Indiana's state poet laureate position was unofficially established in 1927 and officially created in 2005. In 2016, Shari Wagner began her two-year term as poet laureate of the state. Her work revolves around the Indiana landscape and voices of the state's historical figures. Wagner is the author of two books of poetry, most recently The Harmonist at Nightfall: Poems of Indiana (Bottom Dog Press, 2013). Her poetry has appeared in The Writer's Almanac and Best American Nonrequired Reading, and she has been awarded two fellowships from the Indiana Arts Commission. She currently teaches poetry at the Indiana Writers Center.

In December 2017, Adrian Matejka was named the new state poet laureate of Indiana. He will serve from January 1, 2018, through December 31, 2019.

recent & featured listings

type namesort ascending state
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore Von's Books Indiana
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore Viewpoint Books Indiana
Writing Program University of Southern Indiana Creative Writing Indiana
Writing Program University of Notre Dame Creative Writing Program Indiana
Literary Organization The Writers' Center of Indiana Indiana
Conference The Indiana University Writers' Conference Indiana
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore The Indiana University Bookstore Indiana
Literary Organization The Indiana Arts Commission Indiana
Literary Magazine Sycamore Review Indiana
Literary Magazine Southern Indiana Review Indiana




—Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, 2016



Just off of Highway 12, Sandburg’s signature
of time & eternity: the muggy marshes

& thick forests of the mind, sand that sings
its memory of glaciers & the glaciers before

them. 14,000 years of them.