poem index


David Mason

Printer-friendly version

David Mason is the author of many collections of poetry, most recently The Sound: New & Selected Poems (Red Hen Press, 2018). His other collections include Sea Salt, Poems of a Decade: 2004-2014 (Red Hen Press, 2014), News from the Village (Red Hen Press, 2010), Arrivals (Story Line Press, 2004), and The Buried Houses (Story Line Press, 1991).

by this poet


He told me, maybe thirty years ago,
he'd met a rawboned Eskimo named Jack
while filming polar bears on an ice floe.
Jack went out fishing in his sealskin kayak
but the current carried him so far off course
that when a Russian freighter rescued him
they signed him as a mate to Singapore