poem index

sign up to receive a new poem-a-day in your inbox

May 09, 1996New School UniversityFrom the Academy Audio Archive

About this poet

Paul Muldoon was born in County Armagh, Northern Ireland, in 1951. He studied at Queen's University, Belfast, and has worked for BBC Belfast as a radio and television producer.

His most recent book of poetry is One Thousand Things Worth Knowing (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2015). He is also the author of Maggot (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2010); Horse Latitudes (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007); and Moy Sand and Gravel (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2004), which won the Pulitzer Prize, among others.

He has also written libretti for the operas Bandanna (1999) and Shining Brow (1993); the play Six Honest Serving Men (1995); and edited The Faber Book of Beasts (1997), The Essential Byron (1989), and The Faber Book of Contemporary Irish Poetry (1986).

Muldoon was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1990, the T. S. Eliot Award for The Annals of Chile in 1994, the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature in 1996, and the Irish Times Irish Literature Prize for his New Selected Poems (Faber & Faber Poetry, 1996) in 1996. In 2003 he won the Griffin International Prize for Excellence in Poetry.

Muldoon has taught at a number of British and American universities including Cambridge University, Columbia University, the University of California at Berkeley, and the University of Massachusetts. He served as Professor of Poetry at Oxford University from 1999 to 2004 and is currently Howard G.B. Clark ’21 Professor in the Humanities at Princeton University.

Selected Bibliography

One Thousand Things Worth Knowing (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2015)
Maggot (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2010)
Horse Latitudes (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007)
Moy Sand and Gravel (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2004)
Poems: 19681998 (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2001)
Hay (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1999)
The Annals of Chile (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1995)
Madoc: A Mystery (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1990)
Meeting the British (Wake Forest University Press, 1987)
Quoof (Wake Forest University Press, 1983)
Why Brownlee Left (Wake Forest University Press, 1981)
Mules (Wake Forest University Press, 1977)
New Weather (Faber and Faber, 1973)

Symposium (audio only)

Paul Muldoon, 1951


Click the icon above to listen to this audio poem.

Paul Muldoon

Paul Muldoon

Born in County Armagh, Northern Ireland, in 1951, Paul Muldoon is the author of numerous collections, including Moy Sand and Gravel, which won the Pulitzer Prize.

by this poet


I gave you back my claim on the mining town
and the rich vein we once worked,
the tumble down
from a sluice box that irked

you so much, the narrow gauge
that opened up to one and all
when it ran out at the landing stage
beyond the falls.

I gave you back oak ties,
bully flitches, the hand-hewn