poem index

Poem-a-Day Guest Editors in 2018

In 2018, we invited twelve guest editors to each curate a month of Poem-a-Day, the original and only daily poetry series sharing previously unpublished poems by today’s poets. Learn more about our guest editors in 2018, read their poetry, and read the poems they curated for Poem-a-Day.

January: Kaveh Akbar

Kaveh Akbar was born in Tehran, Iran. He holds an MFA from Butler University and a PhD in creative writing from Florida State University. He is the author of Calling a Wolf a Wolf (Alice James Books, 2017) and the chapbook Portrait of the Alcoholic (Sibling Rivalry Press, 2017). Akbar is the recipient of the Lucille Medwick Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America, a Pushcart Prize, and a Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Fellowship from the Poetry Foundation. 

read more

Kaveh Akbar

Poems Curated by Akbar

February: Dawn Lundy Martin

Dawn Lundy Martin's first full-length collection, A Gathering of Matter / A Matter of Gathering (University of Georgia Press, 2007), was selected by Carl Phillips for the 2007 Cave Canem Poetry Prize. She is also the author of Good Stock Strange Blood (Coffee House Press, 2017); Life in a Box Is a Pretty Life (Nightboat Books, 2014); and Discipline (Nightboat Books, 2011), which was selected by Fanny Howe for the 2009 Nightboat Books Poetry Prize.

read more

Dawn Lundy Martin. Photo credit: Max Freeman

Poems Curated by Martin

March: Meghan O'Rourke

Meghan O’Rourke is the author of three poetry collections: Sun in Days (W. W. Norton, 2017), Once (W. W. Norton, 2011), and Halflife (W.W. Norton, 2007), which was a finalist for Britain’s Forward First Book Prize. She is also the author of the memoir The Long Goodbye (Riverhead Books, 2011).

read more

Meghan O'Rourke. Photo credit: Sarah Shatz

Poems Curated by O'Rourke

April: Tracy K. Smith

Tracy K. Smith is the Poet Laureate of the United States. She received the Academy of American Poets Fellowship in 2014 and the James Laughlin Award in 2006 for her second book, Duende (Graywolf Press, 2007). Smith is also the author of Wade in the Water (Graywolf Press, 2018), The Body’s Question (Graywolf Press, 2003), and Life on Mars (Graywolf Press, 2011), recipient of  the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry.

read more

Tracy K. Smith. Photo credit: Rachel Eliza Griffiths

Poems Curated by Smith

May: Matthew Shenoda

Matthew Shenoda is the author of three poetry collections: Tahrir Suite: Poems (TriQuarterly Books, 2014), winner of an Arab American Book Award; Seasons of Lotus, Seasons of Bone (BOA Editions, 2009); and Somewhere Else (Coffee House Press, 2005), which received an American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation. With Kwame Dawes, he also coedited Bearden’s Odyssey: Poets Respond to the Art of Romare Bearden (TriQuarterly Books, 2017).

read more

Matthew Shenoda. Photo credit: Joe Mazza

Poems Curated by Shenoda

June: D. A. Powell

D. A. Powell is the author of the trilogy of books Tea (Wesleyan University Press, 1998), Lunch (Wesleyan University Press, 2000), and Cocktails (Graywolf Press, 2004)—which was nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award. His poetry collection Chronic (Graywolf Press, 2009) received the Kingsley Tufts Award and was nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award. His most recent books are Repast: Tea, Lunch, Cocktails (Graywolf Press, 2014) and Useless Landscape, or a Guide for Boys: Poems (Graywolf Press, 2012).

read more

D. A. Powell

Poems Curated by Powell

July: Adrian Matejka

Adrian Matejka was appointed state poet laureate of Indiana in 2018. He is the author of Map to the Stars (Penguin, 2017); The Big Smoke (Penguin, 2013), which won the 2014 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and was a finalist for both the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize; Mixology (Penguin, 2009), which was a winner of the 2008 National Poetry Series; and The Devil’s Garden (Alice James Books, 2003), which received the 2002 New York/New England Book Award.

read more

Adrian Matejka. Photo credit: Michelle Litvin

Curated by Matejka

August: Evie Shockley

Evie Shockley is the author of The Gorgon Goddess (Carolina Press, 2001), semiautomatic (Wesleyan University Press, 2017); the new black (Wesleyan University Press, 2011), which received the 2012 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award in Poetry; 31 words * prose poems (Belladonna* Books, 2007); and a half-red sea (Carolina Wren Press, 2006). She was coeditor of the poetry journal jubilat from 2004 to 2007 and teaches African American literature and creative writing at Rutgers University-New Brunswick in New Jersey.

read more

Evie Shockley

Poems Curated by Shockley

September: Rigoberto González

Rigoberto González's poetry collection Unpeopled Eden (Four Way Books, 2013), received the 2014 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. He is also the author of the poetry collections Other Fugitives and Other Strangers (Tupelo Press, 2006) and So Often the Pitcher Goes to Water Until It Breaks (University of Illinois Press, 1999), which was chosen by the poet Ai for the National Poetry Series, as well as numerous books of prose, including two bilingual children’s books.

read more 


Rigoberto González. Photo credit: Marion Ettlinger

Poems Curated by González