Harold Morton Landon Translation Award

Printer-friendly version

This $1,000 award recognizes a poetry collection translated from any language into English and published in the previous calendar year. Established in 1976, it is given annually. A noted translator chooses the winning book.

Submissions are accepted September 15 through February 15 each year. Postmark deadline: February 15, 2018.

The judge for the 2018 Harold Morton Landon Translation Award is Ammiel Alcalay.


entry form

previous winners

yearsort descending poet title
1976 Robert Fitzgerald The Iliad by Homer
1978 Galway Kinnell The Poems of François Villon
1978 Howard Norman The Wishing Bone Cycle: Narrative Poems of the Swampy Cree Indians
1980 Saralyn R. Daly The Book of True Love by Juan Ruis
1980 Edmund Keeley Ritsos in Parentheses
1982 Rika Lesser Guide to the Underworld by Gunnar Ekelöf
1984 Robert Fitzgerald The Odyssey by Homer
1984 Stephen Mitchell The Selected Poetry of Rainer Maria Rilke
1985 Edward Snow New Poems [1907] by Rainer Maria Rilke
1986 William Arrowsmith The Storm and Other Things by Eugenio Montale
1987 Mark Anderson In the Storm of Roses by Ingeborg Bachmann
1988 Peter Hargitai Perched on Nothing's Branch by Attila József
1989 Martin Greenberg Heinrich von Kleist: Five Plays
1990 Stephen Mitchell Variable Directions by Dan Pagis
1991 Robert Fagles The Iliad by Homer
1992 John DuVal The Discovery of America by Cesare Pascarella
1992 Andrew Schelling Dropping the Bow: Poems of Ancient India
1993 Charles Simic The Horse Has Six Legs: An Anthology of Serbian Poetry
1994 Rosmarie Waldrop The Book of Margins by Edmond Jabès
1995 Robert Pinsky The Inferno of Dante: A New Verse Translation
1996 Guy Davenport 7 Greeks
1997 David Hinton Landscape Over Zero by Bei Dao, The Late Poems of Meng Chiao, The Selected Poems of Lí Po
1998 Modern Poets of France: A Bilingual Anthology
1999 W. D. Snodgrass Selected Translations
2000 Cola Franzen Horses in the Air by Jorge Guillén
2001 Edward Snow Duino Elegies by Rainer Maria Rilke
2001 Clayton Eshleman Trilce by César Vallejo
2002 David Ferry The Epistles of Horace
2003 W. S. Merwin Sir Gawain and the Green Knight by Anonymous
2004 Charles Martin Metamorphoses by Ovid
2004 Anselm Hollo Pentii Saarikoski's Trilogy
2005 Daryl Hine Works of Hesiod and the Homeric Hymns
2006 Richard Zenith Education by Stone: Selected Poems
2007 Robert Fagles The Aeneid by Virgil
2007 Susanna Nied it by Inger Christensen
2008 Clayton Eshleman The Complete Poetry of Cesar Vallejo
2009 Avi Sharon C. P. Cavafy: Selected Poems
2010 Stephen Kessler Desolation of the Chimera by Luis Cernuda
2011 Jeffrey Angles Forest of Eyes: Selected Poems of Tada Chimako
2012 Jen Hofer Negro Marfil / Ivory Black by Myriam Moscona
2013 Cynthia Hogue Fortino Sámano (The Overflowing of the Poem) by Virginie Lalucq and Jean-Luc Nancy
2013 Sylvain Gallais Fortino Sámano (The Overflowing of the Poem) by Virginie Lalucq and Jean-Luc Nancy
2014 W. S. Merwin Selected Translations
2015 Roger Greenwald Guarding the Air: Selected Poems of Gunnar Harding
2016 Ron Padgett Zone: Selected Poems by Guillaume Apollinaire
2017 Piotr Florczyk Building the Barricade by Anna Świrszczyńska