Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
External Links
Phillis Remastered
The personal blog of Honorée Fanonne Jeffers.
Sponsor a Poet Page | Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
Honorée Fanonne Jeffers
Photo © Star Black 2000

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers

Born in 1967, Honorée Fanonne Jeffers is the author of three books of poetry: Red Clay Suite (Southern Illinois University Press, 2007); Outlandish Blues (Wesleyan University Press, 2003); and The Gospel of Barbecue (The Kent State University Press, 2000), which was selected by Lucille Clifton for the Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize.

Her work has been anthologized in Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora (ed. Sheree R. Thomas; Warner Aspect, 2000); Identity lessons: Contemporary Writing About Learning to Be American (ed. Maria Mazziotti Gillan and Jennifer Gillan; Penguin Books, 1999); At Our Core: Women Writing About Power (ed. Sandra Haldeman Martz; Papier-Mache Press, 1998); and Dark Eros (ed. Reginald Martin; St. Martin's Press, 1997).

Jeffers has been a resident at the MacDowell Colony and won awards from the Rona Jaffe Foundation for Women Writers and the Barbara Deming Memorial Fund for Women. She earned an MFA from the University of Alabama. She now teaches at the University of Oklahoma, where she serves as Associate Professor of English.



Red Clay Suite (Southern Illinois University Press, 2007)
Outlandish Blues (Wesleyan University Press, 2003)
The Gospel of Barbecue (The Kent State University Press, 2000)

Poems by
Honorée Fanonne Jeffers

Chorus of the Mothers-Griot
Muse, a Lady Cautioning
Portrait of Dido Elizabeth Belle Lindsay, Great-Niece of Lord Mansfield, and Her Cousin, Lady Elizabeth Murray, c. 1779 (by unknown artist)

Want more poetry?
Sign up to receive our
monthly update emails.

Support independent booksellers
Make your purchase online through IndieBound or find a local bookstore on the National Poetry Map.

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.