Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
External Links
From Blackbird, Spring 2003.
"Two Poems for T" by Cesar Pavese
Translated by Brock. From Disaffections, reprinted at Verse Daily.
Geoffrey Brock's Homepage
Contains links, poems, translations, and a short biography.
Seven poems
From Mississippi Review, June 1998.
Sponsor a Poet Page | Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
Geoffrey Brock

Geoffrey Brock

Geoffrey Brock was born in Atlanta in 1964. He earned an MFA in Poetry from the University of Florida and a PhD in Comparative Literature from the University of Pennsylvania. In 1999, he received the Raiziss/de Palchi Translation Fellowship from the Academy of American Poets for his work on Cesare Pavese's poetry. The resulting volume, Disaffections: Complete Poems 1930-1950 (Copper Canyon, 2002), received the MLA's Lois Roth Translation Award and the PEN Center USA's Translation Award, and was named one of the "Best Books of 2003" by the Los Angeles Times. He is also the translator of books by Roberto Calasso and Umberto Eco.

His first collection of poems, Weighing Light (Ivan R. Dee, 2005), received the 2004 New Criterion Poetry Prize, and his honors include poetry fellowships from the Florida Arts Council, the Arizona Commission on the Arts, the American Antiquarian Society, and the National Endowment for the Arts. He was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford from 2002-2004 and a Guggenheim Fellow from 2005-2006. He is currently on the faculty of the Programs in Creative Writing and Translation at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville.

Poems by
Geoffrey Brock

Trip Hop

Translations by
Geoffrey Brock

Ancestors by Cesare Pavese
Night Blooming Jasmine by Giovanni Pascoli

Want more poetry?
Sign up to receive our
monthly update emails.

Support independent booksellers
Make your purchase online through IndieBound or find a local bookstore on the National Poetry Map.

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.