Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
Related Prose
Poets Forum 2010 Highlight: Discussion Panels
Report: The Poets Forum on Aesthetic Diversity
Poets Forum Reading: Free Audio Download
Related Pages
Poets Forum
Wallace Stevens Award
Related Events
International Poets Festival
TRIBUTE TO GERALD STERN AT BRYANT PARK - Kimiko Hahn, Rebecca Gayle Howell, and Alicia Ostriker
External Links
An Interview with Gerald Stern
Text and Audio at the Online NewsHour site (November 23, 1998).
Sponsor a Poet Page | Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
Gerald Stern
Photo by Gerald Zörner

Gerald Stern

Gerald Stern was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1925. His recent books of poetry are Early Collected Poems: 1965-1992 (W. W. Norton, 2010), Save the Last Dance: Poems (2008); Everything Is Burning (2005); American Sonnets (2002); Last Blue: Poems (2000); This Time: New and Selected Poems (1998), which won the National Book Award; Odd Mercy (1995); and Bread Without Sugar (1992), winner of the Paterson Poetry Prize.

His other books include Leaving Another Kingdom: Selected Poems (1990); Two Long Poems (1990); Lovesick (1987); Paradise Poems (1984); The Red Coal (1981), which received the Melville Caine Award from the Poetry Society of America; Lucky Life, the 1977 Lamont Poetry Selection of The Academy of American Poets, which was nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award; and Rejoicings (1973).

About his work, the poet Toi Derricotte has said, "Gerald Stern has made an immense contribution to American poetry. His poems are not only great poems, memorable ones, but ones that get into your heart and stay there. Their lyrical ecstasies take you up for that moment so that your vision is changed, you are changed. The voice is intimate, someone unafraid to be imperfect. Gerald Stern’s poems sing in praise of the natural world, and in outrage of whatever is antihuman."

His honors include the Paris Review's Bernard F. Conners Award, the Bess Hokin Award from Poetry, the Ruth Lilly Prize, four National Endowment for the Arts grants, the Pennsylvania Governor's Award for Excellence in the Arts, the Jerome J. Shestack Poetry Prize from American Poetry Review, and fellowships from the Academy of American Poets, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts. In 2005, Stern was selected to receive the Wallace Stevens Award for mastery in the art of poetry.

Stern was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets in 2006. For many years a teacher at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop, Stern now lives in Lambertville, New Jersey.


From the Image Archive
Poems by
Gerald Stern

The Preacher [As if the one tree you love]
Day of Grief
Death By Wind
Kissing Stieglitz Good-Bye
My Sister's Funeral
The Dancing
The Sparrow

Prose by
Gerald Stern

The Poem That Changed My Life: On Hart Crane's "Eternity"
Tribute to Lucille Clifton

Want more poetry?
Sign up to receive our
monthly update emails.

Support independent booksellers
Make your purchase online through IndieBound or find a local bookstore on the National Poetry Map.

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.