Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
Related Prose
A Brief Guide to the Fugitives
Life Studies: American Poetry from T. S. Eliot to Allen Ginsberg
Poetry Landmark: The Robert Penn Warren Birthplace in Guthrie, KY
Other Poet Novelists
Alice Walker
Denis Johnson
James Dickey
John Updike
Michael Ondaatje
Paul Laurence Dunbar
Robert Graves
Other Fugitive Poets
Allen Tate
John Crowe Ransom
Laura Riding Jackson
External Links
Robert Penn Warren (1905-1989)
A collection of critical, historical, and biographical information at the Modern American Poetry site.
Wikiquote: Robert Penn Warren
Sponsor a Poet Page | Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
Robert Penn Warren
Photo: Michael V. Carlisle

Robert Penn Warren

On April 24, 1905, Robert Penn Warren was born in Guthrie, Todd County, Kentucky. He entered Vanderbilt University in 1921, where he became the youngest member of the group of Southern poets called the Fugitives, which included John Crowe Ransom, Allen Tate, Donald Davidson, and Merrill Moore. Warren's first poems were published in The Fugitive, a magazine which the group published from 1922 to 1925. The Fugitives were advocates of the rural Southern agrarian tradition and based their poetry and critical perspective on classical aesthetic ideals.

From 1925 to 1927, Warren was a teaching fellow at The University of California, where he earned a master's degree. He then studied at New College, Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar and returned to the United States in 1930. He taught at Vanderbilt, Louisiana State, The University of Minnesota, and Yale University. With Cleanth Brooks, he wrote Understanding Poetry (1938), a textbook which widely influenced New Criticism and the study of poetry at the college level in America.

Though regarded as one of the best poets of his generation, Warren was better known as a novelist and received tremendous recognition for All the King's Men, which won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1947. As his southern background was exchanged for a later life spent in New England, with homes in Fairfield, Connecticut and Stratton, Vermont, Warren's youthful conservatism eventually gave way to more liberal views, both aesthetically and socially.

Warren's poetry became less formal and more expansive, garnering even higher critical acclaim: his Promises: Poems, 1954-1956 won the Sidney Hillman Award, the Edna St. Vincent Millay Memorial Award, the National Book Award, and the Pulitzer Prize. In 1979 he earned a third Pulitzer Prize, this time for Now and Then: Poems, 1976-1978.

About Warren's work, critic Harold Bloom has said, "At their strongest, Warren's poems win their contest with the American Sublime and find a place with Melville's best poems, formidable exiles from our dominant, Emersonian tradition."

Warren served as a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets from 1972 until 1988, and was selected as a MacArthur Fellow in 1981. On February 26, 1986, Warren was named the first U.S. Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry. He died September 15, 1989.

A Selected Bibliography


XXXVI Poems (1935)
Eleven Poems on the Same Theme (1942)
Brother to Dragons (1953)
Promises: Poems, 1954-1956 (1957)
You, Emperors and Others: Poems 1957-1960 (1960)
Selected Poems: New and Old, 1923-1966 (1966)
Incarnations (1968)
Audubon: A Vision (1969)
Now and Then, Poems 1976-1977 (1978)
Being Here: Poetry 1977-1980 (1980)
New and Selected Poems 1923-1985 (1985)
The Collected Poems of Robert Penn Warren (1998)


John Brown: The Making of a Martyr (1929)
I'll Take My Stand: The South and the Agrarian Tradition (1930)
Understanding Poetry (1938)
Understanding Fiction (1943)
Coleridge's Rime of the Ancient Mariner (1946)
Modern Rhetoric (1949)
Fundamentals of Good Writing (1950)
Segregation: The Inner Conflict in the South (1956)
Selected Essays (1958)
Who Speaks for the Negro? (1965)
Homage to Theodore Dreiser (1971)


Night Rider (1938)
At Heaven's Gate (1943)
Blackberry Winter (1946)
All the King's Men (1946)
The Circus in the Attic, and Other Stories (1948)
World Enough and Time (1950)
Band of Angels (1955)
The Cave (1959)
Wilderness (1960)
Flood (1964)
Meet Me in the Green Glen (1971)
A Place to Come To (1977)


From the Image Archive
Poems by
Robert Penn Warren

A Way to Love God
Evening Hawk
Mortal Limit
San Francisco Night Windows
Tell Me a Story
The Nature of a Mirror
True Love

Want more poetry?
Sign up to receive our
monthly update emails.

Support independent booksellers
Make your purchase online through IndieBound or find a local bookstore on the National Poetry Map.

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.