Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
Related Poets
Galway Kinnell
Hayden Carruth
Richard Hugo
Stanley Plumly
W. S. Merwin
External Links
William Matthews: Rising and Falling
The complete text of his third book, at the Contemporary American Poetry Archive site.
Sponsor a Poet Page | Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
William Matthews
Photo Star Black

William Matthews

Born in Cincinnati, Ohio, on November 11, 1942, William Matthews earned a BA from Yale University and an MA from the University of North Carolina.

During his lifetime he published eleven books of poetry, including Time & Money (1996), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award and was a finalist for the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize; Selected Poems and Translations 1969-1991 (1992); Blues If You Want (1989); A Happy Childhood (1984); Rising and Falling (1979); Sticks and Stones (1975); and Ruining the New Road (1970). Collections published posthumously include Search Party: Collected Poems, edited by his son Sebastian Matthews and Stanley Plumly (Houghton Mifflin, 2004) and After All: Last Poems (1998). He was also the author of a book of essays entitled Curiosities (1989).

William Matthews served as president of Associated Writing Programs and of the Poetry Society of America, and as a member and chair of the Literature Panel of the National Endowment for the Arts. He received fellowships from the Guggenheim and Ingram Merrill foundations, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Lila Wallace-Reader's Digest Fund, and in April 1997 he was awarded the Ruth Lilly Prize. He taught at several schools, including Wells College, Cornell University, the University of Colorado, and the University of Washington. At the time of his death he was a professor of English and director of the creative writing program at New York's City College. William Matthews died of a heart attack on November 12, 1997, the day after his fifty-fifth birthday.

A Selected Bibliography


A Happy Childhood (1984)
After All: Last Poems (1998)
An Oar in the Old Water (1974)
Blues If You Want (1989)
Broken Syllables (1969)
Flood (1982)
Foreseeable Futures (1987)
Rising and Falling (1979)
Ruining the New Road (1970)
Selected Poems & Translations, 1969-1991 (1992)
Sleek for the Long Flight: New Poems (1972)
Stick and Stones (1975)
The Cloud (1971)
Time & Money: New Poems (1995)


A World Rich in Anniversaries: Prose Poems, (1979)
Removed from Time (1977)
The Mortal City: 100 Epigrams of Martial (1995)


Curiosities (1989)

Poems by
William Matthews

Mood Indigo
The Bear at the Dump

Prose by
William Matthews

William Matthews on Tony Hoagland's Donkey Gospel

Want more poetry?
Sign up to receive our
monthly update emails.

Buy William Matthews books on Amazon

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.