Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
Related Prose
A Brief Guide to New Formalism
A Brief Guide to the Fugitives
Life Studies: American Poetry from T. S. Eliot to Allen Ginsberg
Other Fugitive Poets
Allen Tate
Laura Riding Jackson
Robert Penn Warren
Related Poets
James Wright
Randall Jarrell
Robert Lowell
External Links
John Crowe Ransom (1888-1974)
A collection of critical, historical, and biographical information at the Modern American Poetry site.
Sponsor a Poet Page | Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
John Crowe Ransom

John Crowe Ransom

In 1888, John Crowe Ransom was born in Pulaski, Tennessee. He received an undergraduate degree from Vanderbilt University in 1909, studied as a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford, and served in the First World War. He became a professor at Vanderbilt and later accepted a position at Kenyon College, where he became founder and editor of The Kenyon Review, and remained there until his retirement in 1959.

Ransom published three slim volumes of highly acclaimed poetry, but after 1927 principally devoted himself to critical writing. He was a guiding member of the Fugitives, a group of writers who were wary of the social and cultural changes they were witnessing in the South during the early part of the twentieth century. The Fugitives sought to preserve a traditional aesthetic ideal which was firmly rooted in classical values and forms. As a critic, he had an enormous influence on an entire generation of poets and fellow academics, who subscribed to the doctrines he laid out as the "New Criticism." His ideals were John Donne and the English metaphysical poetry of the 17th century. He believed in the poetic virtues of irony and complexity, and the importance of adhering to traditional prosodic techniques of meter, stanza, and rhyme. His own poems are marked by irony and a spare classicism, and a concern with the inevitable decay of all things human.

John Crowe Ransom died in 1974.

A Selected Bibliography


Poems About God (1919)
Chills and Fever (1924)
Grace After Meat (1924)
Two Gentlemen in Bonds (1926)
Selected Poems (1945)
Poems and Essays (1955)


God Without Thunder (1931)
The World's Body (1938)
The New Criticism (1941)
A College Primer of Writing (1943)
The Kenyon Critics: Studies in Modern Literature (1951)
Poetic Sense: A Study of Problems in Defining Poetry by Content (1971)
Beating the Bushes: Selected Essays, 1941-1970 (1997)

Want more poetry?
Sign up to receive our
monthly update emails.

Support independent booksellers
Make your purchase online through IndieBound or find a local bookstore on the National Poetry Map.

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.