Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
Related Prose
Books Noted: James Merrill: Selected Poems
Related Poets
J. D. McClatchy
James Merrill
Related Pages
Walt Whitman Award
Sponsor a Poet Page | Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
Stephen Yenser
Photo Helen Yenser

Stephen Yenser

In 1941, Stephen Yenser was born in Wichita, Kansas.

He is the author of Blue Guide (University of Chicago Press, 2006); The Fire in All Things (1993), which was selected by Richard Howard to receive the 1992 Walt Whitman Award.

He has also published a collection of essays, A Boundless Field: American Poetry at Large (University of Michigan Press, 2002), as well as The Consuming Myth: The Work of James Merrill (1987) and Circle to Circle: The Poetry of Robert Lowell (1975). With J. D. McClatchy, he edited James Merrill's Collected Poems (2002), Collected Novels and Plays of James Merrill (2003), and The Changing Light at Sandover (Knopf, 2006).

About Yenser's work, the poet Alan Williamson has said, "Stephen Yenser combines two qualities rarely found together: an extraordinary gift for verbal play and a bedrock seriousness about the emotional aims of poetry. Consequently he can do things almost no one else can: a poem reproducing the modulations of music; a poem in a dead poet's style that becomes uniquely his own, through its meditation on intersubjectivity and immortality."

His honors include a "Discovery"/The Nation Award, two Fulbright teaching fellowships, and an Ingram Merrill Foundation Award in Poetry, a Pushcart Prize, and the B. F. Connors Prize for Poetry from the Paris Review.

He is a professor of English and Director of Creative Writing at the University of California in Los Angeles.

Poems by
Stephen Yenser

Vertumnal [excerpt]

Want more poetry?
Sign up to receive our
monthly update emails.

Support independent booksellers
Make your purchase online through IndieBound or find a local bookstore on the National Poetry Map.

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.