Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >


Main Menu
Academy Fellowship
Wallace Stevens Award
Lenore Marshall Prize
James Laughlin Award
Walt Whitman Award
Raiziss/de Palchi Translation Awards
Landon Translation Award
College Prizes
Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award
Past Awards
Writing Contests FAQ


Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

In 1994, the Academy was selected by the New Hope Foundation to administer the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. Established in 1975, this $25,000 award recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year. Past recipients include Philip Levine, Sterling A. Brown, Adrienne Rich, Thom Gunn, W. S. Merwin, Marilyn Hacker, and Charles Wright. Submissions are accepted each year from January 1 to May 15.

The judges for 2014 are Kwame Dawes, Alicia Suskin Ostriker, and Susan Stewart.

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize honors the memory of Lenore Marshall (1897-1971), a poet, novelist, essayist, and political activist. She was the author of three novels, three books of poetry, a collection of short stories, and selections from her notebooks. Her work appeared in such distinguished literary magazines as The New Yorker, The Saturday Review, and Partisan Review. In 1956 she helped found the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy, the citizens' organization that lobbied successfully for passage of the 1963 partial nuclear test ban treaty.

Guidelines and Entry Form

Winners & Judges

Year Poet Title & Publisher Judges
2013 Patricia Smith Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah (Coffee House Press) Cornelius Eady, Claudia Emerson, Gregory Orr
2012 David Wojahn World Tree (University of Pittsburgh Press) Linda Gregerson, David St. John, Natasha Trethewey
2011 C.D. Wright One With Others (Copper Canyon Press) Mei-mei Berssenbrugge, D.A. Powell, Martha Ronk
2010 John Koethe Ninety-fifth Street (Harper Perennial) Marianne Boruch, David Kirby, John Yau
2009 Linda Gregg All of It Singing: New and Selected Poems (Graywolf Press) Dorianne Laux, J. D. McClatchy, James Richardson
2008 Henri Cole Blackbird and Wolf (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) Lucie Brock-Broido, B. H. Fairchild, John Koethe
2007 Alice Notley Grave of Light: New and Selected Poems 1970–2005 (Wesleyan University Press) David Baker, Mark McMorris, Marie Ponsot
2006 Eleanor Lerman Our Post-Soviet History Unfolds (Sarabande Books) Carl Dennis, Tony Hoagland, Carol Muske-Dukes
2005 Anne Winters The Displaced of Capital (University Of Chicago Press) Louise Glück, Robert Pinsky, Alan Shapiro
2004 Donald Revell My Mojave (Alice James Books) Brenda Hillman, Forest Gander, Harryette Mullen
2003 Eamon Grennan Still Life with Waterfall (Graywolf Press) Judith Ortiz Cofer, Andrew Hudgins, Robert Wrigley
2002 Madeline DeFrees Blue Dusk (Copper Canyon Press) Joy Harjo, Michael S. Harper, Lawson Inada
2001 Fanny Howe Selected Poems (University of California Press) Elaine Equi, Ann Lauterbach, Bob Perelman
2000 David Ferry Of No Country I Know: New and Selected Poems and Translations (University Of Chicago Press) W. S. Di Piero, Mary Kinzie, Eleanor Wilner
1999 Wanda Coleman Bathwater Wine (Black Sparrow Press) Rafael Campo, Toi Derricotte, Marilyn Hacker
1998 Mark Jarman Questions for Ecclesiastes (Story Line Press) Charles Simic, Chase Twichell, Charles Wright
1997 Robert Pinsky The Figured Wheel: New and Collected Poems 1966-1996 (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) Mark Doty, Susan Mitchell, Mary Oliver
1996 Charles Wright Chickamauga (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) Philip Levine, Yusef Komunyakaa, Laurie Sheck
1995 Marilyn Hacker Winter Numbers (W. W. Norton & Company) Maxine Kumin, Cornelius Eady, Alice Fulton
1994 W. S. Merwin Travels (Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.) Gerald Stern, Deborah Digges, Stephen Dunn
1993 Thom Gunn The Man with Night Sweats (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) Robert Pinsky, Carol Muske, James Tate
1992 Adrienne Rich An Atlas of the Difficult World (W. W. Norton & Company) Mona Van Duyn, Edward Hirsch, Thomas Lux
1991 John Haines New Poems, 1980-88 (Story Line Press) Donald Hall, Josephine Jacobsen, Molly Peacock
1990 Michael Ryan God Hunger (Puffin) William Pritchard, Sydney Lea, Liz Rosenberg
1989 Thomas McGrath Selected Poems, 1938-1988 (Copper Canyon Press) Amy Clampitt, Richard Kenney, Robert Shaw
1988 Josephine Jacobsen The Sisters: New & Selected Poems (Bench Press) William Jay Smith, Robert Phillips, Katha Pollitt
1987 Donald Hall The Happy Man (Random House) Robert Pinsky, Ellen Bryant Voigt, Douglas Crase
1986 Howard Moss New Selected Poems (Atheneum) J. D. McClatchy, Richard Howard, Rachel Hadas
1985 John Ashbery A Wave (Penguin) Dave Smith, Rika Lesser, John Hollander
1984 Josephine Miles Collected Poems, 1930-83 (University of Illinois Press) Alfred Corn, Josephine Jacobsen, Donald Justice
1983 George Starbuck The Argot Merchant Disaster (Little Brown & Co) Dana Gioia, May Swenson, Sydney Lea
1982 John Logan The Bridge of Change: Poems 1974-1980 (BOA Editions) William Jay Smith, Carolyn Kizer, Paul Zweig
1981 Sterling A. Brown The Collected Poems of Sterling A. Brown (Harper & Row) Philip Levine, Michael Harper, Jean Valentine
1980 Stanley Kunitz The Poems of Stanley Kunitz, 1928-1978 (Little, Brown & Co) William Jay Smith, Cynthia Macdonald, Quincy Troupe
1979 Hayden Carruth Brothers, I Loved You All (Sheep Meadow) Alastair Reid, Galway Kinnell, Mark Strand
1978 Allen Tate Collected Poems, 1919-1976 (Farrar, Straus And Giroux) Alastair Reid, John Hollander, May Swenson
1977 Philip Levine The Names of the Lost (Macmillan Publishing Company) William Stafford, Carolyn Kizer, Charles Wright
1976 Denise Levertov The Freeing of the Dust (New Directions Publishing Corporation) Hayden Carruth
1975 Cid Corman O/I (Elizabeth Press) Hayden Carruth
Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.