recent announcements

Aug 24 2016
I, Too, Sing America graphic

Over the past two years, we have seen how poems have become particularly relevant to current events, public debate, and social change movements. It is more true than ever that when we face moments of crisis, thousands of people swarm seeking poems that offer language to help translate challenging circumstances, provide unique insight, inspire empathy, give comfort, express frustration, and spark hope.

Aug 17 2016
Hello Poetry World

Less than a year after the term "internet" was defined in 1995, the Academy of American Poets became the first poetry organization to launch a website., with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities, rolled out with a comprehensive suite of poetry resources for K-12 teachers, essays, poets biographies, and poems. We knew then, as we know now, that poetry is the perfect art form for the digital age. Text-based, compact, and highly shareable, today, poems are reaching more readers than ever before.