In 2007, Washington established a state poet laureate position, currently held by Tod Marshall, who assumed the role on February 1, 2016. Marshall was appointed by Governor Jay Inslee and replaced Elizabeth Austen as the state’s fourth poet laureate. Marshall is the author of Bugle (Canarium Books, 2014), The Tangled Line (Canarium Books, 2009), and Dare Say (University of Georgia Press, 2002).

recent & featured listings

typesort ascending name state
Festival Bumbershoot Washington
Reading Series It's About Time Writers Reading Series Washington
Colony Hedgebrook Washington
Writing Program Inland Northwest Center for Writers Washington
Writing Program University of Washington Washington
Small Press Blue Begonia Press Washington
Small Press Copper Canyon Press Washington
Small Press Wave Books Washington
Literary Magazine Crab Creek Review Washington
Literary Magazine Willow Springs Washington



Mt. Rainier National Park

We are standing on the access road to Paradise.
Seven miles from the gates.  We are standing
on the centerline, the moon on our faces, the mountain
at our backs. 
Were it less than full, we might see,
in its northwest sector, the Land of