Indiana's state poet laureate position was unofficially established in 1927 and officially created in 2005. On January 1, 2014, George Kalamaras began his two-year term as poet laureate of the state. Kalamaras is the author of six books of poetry, including Kingdom of Throat-Stuck Luck (2011), winner of the Elixir Press Poetry Contest, and The Theory and Function of Mangoes (2002), winner of the Four Way Books Intro Series. He has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and from the Indiana Arts Commission. Since 1990, he has served as professor of English at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne.

upcoming events

Apr 13 2015
An Evening with Poet, Editor, and Biographer: Quincy Troupe

A reading with Quincy Troupe.



1165 E. Third St.
Hoagy Carmichael Room, Morrison Hall - Room 006
47405 Bloomington, Indiana
Apr 03 2015 to Apr 04 2015
Poetpalooza 2015: A Tri-State Poetry Summit

Village Lights Bookstore in Madison, Indiana, will host Poetpalooza 2015: A Tri-State Poetry Summit, Friday evening, April 3, through Saturday, April 4. Poetpalooza is an annual event, presenting readings and signings by regionally and nationally recognized published poets from Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio, including Poets Laureate of Indiana and Kentucky. Headliners for 2015 will be Indiana Poet Laureate Norbert Krapf, Kentucky Poet Laureate Maureen Morehead, and Kentucky Poet Laureate Richard Taylor. The event will host book launches by Indiana poets Curtis Crisler, Jill Kelly Koren, and Jack Ramey. This year’s Featured Independent Publisher is Accents Publishing of Kentucky. For Poetpalooza 2015, the Community Foundation of Madison and Jefferson County is sponsoring two screenings of the award-winning independent film, Proud Citizen, directed by Kentucky filmmaker, Thomas Southerland, and starring Katerina Stoykova-Klemer of Accents Publishing. The public is invited to participate in Friday evening’s kick-off event, an open mic emceed by emerging poets Alex Acosta and Harlan Kelly. Indiana poet Tony Brewer and his typewriter will provide “Poetry on Demand” in front of the store through the day on Saturday “as the mood strikes.” Poetpalooza is a flow-through event held during regular business hours, with books from the participating poets and the Featured Independent Publisher available for purchase. Visitors can stand, sit, browse, listen… come and go, as they see fit, throughout the event. Each poet or group will take the stage at the top or bottom of an hour and read for 20 to 40 minutes. After reading, they will be available for signing in the front of the shop. PARTICIPATING POETSAlex Acosta (IN)Jason Ammerman (IN)Bianca Bargo (KY)Tony Brewer (IN)Curtis Crisler (IN)Nettie Farris (IN)Gerry Grubbs (OH)Tom C. Hunley (KY)Harlan Kelly (IN)Joseph Kerschbaum (IN)Jill Kelly Koren (IN)Norbert Krapf, Indiana Poet Laureate, 2008-2010Maureen Morehead, Kentucky Poet Laureate, 2011-2012Jack Ramey (IN)Barbara Sabol (OH)Frederick Smock (KY)Katerina Stoykova-Klemer (KY)Richard Taylor, Kentucky Poet Laureate, 1999-2001 

5:00pm to 11:00pm
110 East Main Street
47250 Madison, Indiana

recent & featured listings

typesort descending name state
Literary Organization The Indiana Arts Commission Indiana
Literary Organization The Writers' Center of Indiana Indiana
Literary Organization Arts Council of Indianapolis Indiana
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore Boxcar Books Indiana
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore The Indiana University Bookstore Indiana
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore Destinations Booksellers Indiana
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore Viewpoint Books Indiana
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore Von's Books Indiana
Literary Magazine African American Review Indiana
Literary Magazine Indiana Review Indiana