poetry near you

Are you looking to connect with poets or find opportunities to hear or study poetry? To find poetry events and resources near you, simply enter your zip code in the search field below. You can also click on the states menu to the right above and select your state to find festivals, conferences, writing programs, literary organizations, landmarks, poetry-friendly bookstores, and more in your area. If you'd like to share events with the Poets.org audience, please submit them below.

upcoming events

filter by
date
Sep 10 2015 to Sep 12 2015

The 10th Annual Carolina Mountains Literary Festival

The festival begins Thursday night with a film about the creation of the US Forest Service. Friday and Saturday almost 30 authors including NC Poet Laureate Shelby Stephenson, Sara Gruen and Wiley Cash will present free readings.

The Friday night banquet with Jay Erskine Leutze and Saturday night's "Conversation With Barbara Kingsolver and Ann Patchett" are ticketed events. Four writing workshops and a nature walk require registration and tickets.  More information is at cmlitfest.org

7:00pm to 10:00pm
Burnsville Town Center
6 South Main Street
28714 Burnsville, North Carolina
Aug 11 2015

Summer Reading Series: Parneshia Jones, Patrick Phillips, and Jean Valentine

This summer the Academy of American Poets continues its tradition of offering poetry readings featuring a diverse lineup of poets sharing their latest work at the historic New York Public Library. Our readings are made possible in part by funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs and the New York State Council on the Arts.

Free and open to the public. Capacity is limited. Seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis.

 

6:00pm
New York Public Library, Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, Margaret Liebman Berger Forum
Fifth Avenue at 42nd Street
2nd Floor, Room 227
10018 New York, New York
Aug 08 2015

Poetry Writing Workshop with Li-Young Lee

Li-Young Lee will be leading a 2 hour poetry writing workshop on Saturday, August 8. Lee is the author of four books of poetry, including, most recently, Behind My Eyes. His earlier collections are Book of My NightsRose, winner of the Delmore Schwartz Memorial Award; The City in Which I Love You, the 1990 Lamont Poetry Selection; and a memoir entitledThe Winged Seed: A Remembrance, which received an American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation and will be reissued by BOA Editions in 2012. Lee’s honors include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, The Lannan Foundation, and the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, as well as grants from the Illinois Arts Council, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts.

Admission fee: $60.00
3:00pm to 5:00pm
Hill-Stead Museum
35 Mountain Road
06032 Farmington, Connecticut
Aug 16 2015 to Aug 21 2015

Live Free and Write

Join us in New Hampshire for a supportive writing retreat. Enjoy the refreshing New England summer with plentiful writing time, encouraging workshops, homemade meals and time to relax. Spend the week in either "Writing and Publishing Retreat" with Amanda Morris or "Free-Writing Intensive" with Douglas Goetsch; retreat hosted by Peter Murphy.Learn more: www.murphywriting.com/nh

Admission fee: $695.00
4:00pm to 11:00am
Dexter's Inn
258 Stagecoach Rd.
03782 Sunapee, New Hampshire
Oct 13 2015

Graywolf Poetry Tour - Mary Jo Bang, Nick Flynn and Diane Seuss

Co-sponsored by University of Chicago Creative Writing and Poetics

About "The Last Two Seconds" by Mary Jo Bang: One of Publishers Weekly's Top 10 Poetry Books of the Spring. "The Last Two Seconds" is an astonishing confrontation with time—our experience of it as measured out by our perceptions, our lives, and our machines. In these poems, full of vivid imagery and imaginative logic, Mary Jo Bang captures the difficulties inherent in being human in the twenty-first century, when we set our watches by nuclear disasters, species collapse, pollution, mounting inequalities, warring nations, and our own mortality. This is brilliant and profound work by an essential poet of our time.

About "My Feelings" by Nick Flynn: In "My Feelings", Nick Flynn’s fourth book of poetry, the author makes no claims on anyone else’s. These poems inhabit a continually shifting sense of selfhood, in the attempt to contain quicksilver realms of emotional energy—from grief and panic to gratitude and understanding. A major subject is the death of Flynn’s father, a formerly homeless man suffering from mental illness and delusions of his own grandeur (and made famous recently by Robert De Niro in the film "Being Flynn", based on Nick Flynn’s memoir). What does it mean to lose someone like that, finally, and what is the legacy of fatherhood? Flynn’s jagged, lyrical poems attempt to make sense of these questions and the clutter left behind in our lives. Alongside those elegies are also moving poems about his daughter, his own sense of fatherhood, and his fractured memories of his mother, before she took her own life.

About "Four-Legged Girl" by Diane Seuss: In Diane Seuess’s urgent and rapturous third collection, "Four-Legged Girl", her kaleidoscopic lyricism is on full display. These are hothouse poems written from her personal life, from a childhood lived beside the death of her estranged father to a wild love life as recounted from the streets of New York. The book culminates to the remarkable title poem about the famous turn-of-the-century sideshow freak, the woman with four legs, the body made strange to itself and to others. Seuss’s work is emotional and lyrically rich, but grounded in her wild femininity, her childhood narrative, and her sense of rural Michigan, where she now lives. Perfect for fans of Linda Gregg, Lucie Brock-Broido, and D. A. Powell, "Four-Legged Girl" is a gutsy, sexy book of poems that is poised to make a big splash this fall.

About Mary Jo Bang: Mary Jo Bang is the author of six collections of poems, including "Louise in Love", "The Eye Like a Strange Balloon", "The Bride of E", and "Elegy", which received the National Book Critics Circle Award. She has also recently translated Dante's "Inferno". She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri, and teaches at Washington University.

About Nick Flynn: Nick Flynn is the author of three acclaimed books of poetry, "The Captain Asks for a Show of Hands", "Blind Huber", and "Some Ether", winner of the PEN/Osterweil Award. He is also the author of three memoirs, "The Reenactments", "The Ticking Is the Bomb", and "Another Bullshit Night in Suck City", winner of the PEN/Martha Albrand Award. He is also the author of a play, "Alice Invents a Little Game" and "Alice Always Wins" (2008). He has received fellowships from, among other organizations, The Guggenheim Foundation and The Library of Congress. Some of the venues his poems, essays, and nonfiction have appeared in include the New Yorker, the Paris Review, National Public Radio’s "This American Life", and the New York Times Book Review. His film credits include artistic collaborator and “field poet” on the film "Darwin’s Nightmare" (nominated for an Academy Award for best feature documentary in 2006), as well as executive producer and artistic collaborator on "Being Flynn", the film version of "Another Bullshit Night in Suck City". A professor in the creative writing program at the University of Houston, where he teaches each spring, he then spends the rest of the year in (or near) Brooklyn.

About Diane Seuss: Diane Seuss is the author of two previous poetry collections, "It Blows You Hollow" and "Wolf Lake, White Gown Blown Open", winner of the Juniper Prize for Poetry. Her poems have appeared in Best American Poetry 2014, the Georgia Review, New Orleans Review, Poetry, and elsewhere. She is writer-in-residence at Kalamazoo College and lives in Michigan.

About Srikanth Reddy: Srikanth Reddy is the author of two books of poetry--"Facts for Visitors" (University of California Press, 2004) and "Voyager" (University of California Press, 2011) --as well as a scholarly study, "Changing Subjects: Digressions in Modern American Poetry" (Oxford University Press, 2012). His poems have appeared in various journals, including APR, Grand Street, Fence, and Ploughshares, and his critical writing has been featured in publications such as the New Republic, Raritan, and American Literature. He has held fellowships from the Mellon Foundation, the Whiting Foundation (in the Humanities), and the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing. A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and the doctoral program in English at Harvard University, Reddy is an Assistant Professor in English and at the College.

7:00pm
57th Street Books
1301 E. 57th St.
60637 Chicago, Illinois

recent & featured listings

filter by
type namesort ascending state
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore

[words] Bookstore

New Jersey

ZYZZYVA

California
Literary Magazine

Zone 3

Tennessee
Small Press

Zephyr Press

Massachusetts
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore

Zandbroz Variety

North Dakota
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore

Zandbroz Variety

South Dakota
Literary Magazine

Yemassee

South Carolina
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore

Yawn's Books

Georgia
Literary Magazine

Yalobusha Review

Mississippi
Small Press

Yale University Press

Connecticut

poems

poem

In the rooms of a rundown palace
You said, Ruined. You said, Princess.

You said nothing to me
For three long weeks.

The color of that room
Is eel-black.

When I was a girl and still
German, I stood alone

At the end of the sea.
You may have loved me

poem

for James Wright


   The poet will seek to clothe herself in sparrows.

A motor in each leaf
distills autumn’s engines and we’re off.

Upstart cartoon morning;
     these various roosters scratch inside the eyelids
     and declare beneath the streetlamps that their

poem
Filling her compact & delicious body
with chicken páprika, she glanced at me
twice.
Fainting with interest, I hungered back
and only the fact of her husband & four other people
kept me from springing on her

or falling at her little feet and crying
'You are the hottest one for years of night
Henry's
2