poem index


Alexandra Teague

Printer-friendly version

Alexandra Teague is the author of the poetry collections The Wise and Foolish Builders, forthcoming from Persea Books in April 2015, and Mortal Geography (Persea, 2010), which which won the 2009 Lexi Rudnitsky First Book Prize in Poetry and the 2010 California Book Award. She is an assistant professor at the University of Idaho in Moscow.

by this poet

That summer, she had a student who was obsessed 
with the order of adjectives. A soldier in the South 
Vietnamese army, he had been taken prisoner when 

Saigon fell. He wanted to know why the order 
could not be altered. The sweltering city streets shook
with rockets and helicopters. The city sweltering