Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

Printer-friendly version

Established in 1975, this $25,000 award recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous calendar year. The prize includes a ten-day residency at Glen Hollow in Naples, New York, and distribution of the winning book to hundreds of Academy of American Poets members.

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize honors the memory of Lenore Marshall (1897-1971), a poet, novelist, essayist, and political activist. She was the author of three novels, three books of poetry, a collection of short stories, and selections from her notebooks. Her work appeared in such distinguished literary magazines as The New Yorker, The Saturday Review, and Partisan Review. In 1956 she helped found the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy, the citizens’ organization that lobbied successfully for passage of the 1963 partial nuclear test ban treaty. In 1994, the Academy was selected by the New Hope Foundation to administer the award.

Submissions are accepted January 1 through May 15 each year. The judges for the 2019 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize are Major JacksonPatricia Smith, and David Wojahn. Postmark deadline: May 15.


entry form

previous winners

yearsort descending poet title
1975 Cid Corman O/I
1976 Denise Levertov The Freeing of the Dust
1977 Philip Levine The Names of the Lost
1978 Allen Tate Collected Poems, 1919-1976
1979 Hayden Carruth Brothers, I Loved You All
1980 Stanley Kunitz The Poems of Stanley Kunitz, 1928-1978
1981 Sterling A. Brown The Collected Poems of Sterling A. Brown
1982 John Logan The Bridge of Change: Poems 1974-1980
1983 George Starbuck The Argot Merchant Disaster
1984 Josephine Miles Collected Poems, 1930-83
1985 John Ashbery A Wave
1986 Howard Moss New Selected Poems
1987 Donald Hall The Happy Man
1988 Josephine Jacobsen The Sisters: New & Selected Poems
1989 Thomas McGrath Selected Poems, 1938-1988
1990 Michael Ryan God Hunger
1991 John Haines New Poems, 1980-88
1992 Adrienne Rich An Atlas of the Difficult World
1993 Thom Gunn The Man with Night Sweats
1994 W. S. Merwin Travels
1995 Marilyn Hacker Winter Numbers
1996 Charles Wright Chickamauga
1997 Robert Pinsky The Figured Wheel: New and Collected Poems 1966-1996
1998 Mark Jarman Questions for Ecclesiastes
1999 Wanda Coleman Bathwater Wine
2000 David Ferry Of No Country I Know: New and Selected Poems and Translations
2001 Fanny Howe Selected Poems
2002 Madeline DeFrees Blue Dusk
2003 Eamon Grennan Still Life with Waterfall
2004 Donald Revell My Mojave
2005 Anne Winters The Displaced of Capital
2006 Eleanor Lerman Our Post-Soviet History Unfolds
2007 Alice Notley Grave of Light: New and Selected Poems 1970–2005
2008 Henri Cole Blackbird and Wolf
2009 Linda Gregg All of It Singing: New and Selected Poems
2010 John Koethe Ninety-fifth Street
2011 C. D. Wright One With Others
2012 David Wojahn World Tree
2013 Patricia Smith Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah
2014 Rigoberto González Unpeopled Eden
2015 Kevin Young Book of Hours
2016 Lynn Emanuel The Nerve of It: Poems New and Selected
2017 Patrick Rosal Brooklyn Antediluvian
2018 Craig Morgan Teicher The Trembling Answers