Press Center

Media Contact: Jennifer Benka
Executive Director, (212) 274-0343

Aug 11 2015
Join the Academy of American Poets, Swann Galleries, and Cave Canem Foundation on September 10, 2015 at 7 p.m. for an exclusive exhibition of Dr. Maya Angelou’s extensive art collection. This will be the first and only time the public will have the opportunity to view the collection. To elucidate her legacy, Pulitzer Prize winner Gregory Pardlo will speak on Dr. Angelou’s literary and artistic work. The event is free, but R.S.V.P.s are required. One can R.S.V.P. for the event here:
Aug 06 2015
The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce the schedule for its 9th annual Poets Forum in New York City, to be held on the New York University and The New School campuses October 8–10, 2015. A celebration of poets for poetry lovers, this year’s events kick off Thursday night with a reading and book signing by the 15 Academy of American Poets Chancellors, who include U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera, National Book Critics Circle Award winner and Citizen author Claudia Rankine, Inaugural Poet Elizabeth Alexander, and National Book Award winner Mark Doty. The reading is a unique opportunity to hear leading poets from across the U.S. sharing work on one stage.
Jul 07 2015

The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce that Carolyn Forché will judge the 2016 Walt Whitman Award, the nation’s most valuable first-book prize for poetry. The winner of the Whitman Award will receive $5,000 and be published by Graywolf Press in 2017. In addition, the Academy of American Poets will purchase and send thousands of copies of the book to its members, making it one of the most widely distributed poetry books of the year.

Apr 20 2015

New York, NY— On Saturday, April 25, 2015, more than 20 poets—including poetry slam stars, sign language poets, and prize-winners—will present work at different points along the High Line as part of “After Sunset: Poetry Walk.” The series of performances will begin at 6:30 p.m. at West 26th Street and culminate in a reading by National Book Award-winner Mark Doty at 8:30 p.m. at the Chelsea Market Passage at 16th Streets.  A closing party with music and a cash bar will follow.  The event is presented by Friends of the High Line and the Academy of American Poets in celebration of National Po