Press Center

Media Contact: Jennifer Benka
Executive Director, (212) 274-0343

Apr 20 2015

New York, NY— On Saturday, April 25, 2015, more than 20 poets—including poetry slam stars, sign language poets, and prize-winners—will present work at different points along the High Line as part of “After Sunset: Poetry Walk.” The series of performances will begin at 6:30 p.m. at West 26th Street and culminate in a reading by National Book Award-winner Mark Doty at 8:30 p.m. at the Chelsea Market Passage at 16th Streets.  A closing party with music and a cash bar will follow.  The event is presented by Friends of the High Line and the Academy of American Poets in celebration of National Po

Mar 30 2015
The Academy of American Poets announced on March 30, 2015, that Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Tracy K. Smith has selected Sjohnna McCray as the recipient of the 2015 Walt Whitman Award, the nation’s most valuable first-book prize.
Mar 30 2015

New York, NY (March 30, 2015)— In celebration of National Poetry Month this April, the Academy of American Poets, the nonprofit organization behind National Poetry Month, is partnering with 826 National on “Read This Poem,” an initiative designed to highlight poets, celebrate poetry communities throughout the United States, and connect poets with students.

Mar 11 2015

New York, NY (March 11, 2015) — On April 15, the Academy of American Poets will present Poetry & the Creative Mind, an awe-inspiring and entertaining evening at Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall. The event, which illuminates the significance of poetry in contemporary culture, will feature the following readers, who will perform poems by American poets of note: