Press Center

Media Contact: Jennifer Benka
Executive Director
[email protected], (212) 274-0343

Jun 16 2017

[New York, NY]—The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce four new members have joined its Board of Directors: Thomas Kean, Tess O’Dwyer, Elda Rotor, and Drew Schiff. They are joining the other 15 current Directors of the organization, who have championed poets and poetry for more than three generations.

Jun 14 2017

[New York, NY]—National Endowment for the Arts Chairman Jane Chu has approved more than $82 million to fund local arts projects across the country in the NEA’s second major funding announcement for fiscal year 2017. Included in this announcement is an Art Works award of $75,000 to the Academy of American Poets to support free programs that foster a national interest in poetry and showcase American poets.

Apr 01 2017

New York, NY (April 1, 2017)—The Academy of American Poets—which founded and continues to organize National Poetry Month—is pleased to share five ways to celebrate National Poetry Month in your community.

Encourage students and teachers to participate in the Dear Poet project

Mar 29 2017
We are pleased to announce that Jenny Xie is the recipient of the 2017 Walt Whitman Award for her manuscript, Eye Level. In his citation, judge Juan Felipe Herrera writes that Xie’s work is a “timely collection of beauty, clarity and expansive humanity.” Eye Level will be published by Graywolf Press in April 2018 and distributed to members of the Academy of American Poets. Xie will also receive $5,000 and a six-week residency at the Civitella Ranieri Foundation in Italy.