Press Center

Media Contact: Jennifer Benka
Executive Director
[email protected], (212) 274-0343

Oct 02 2009

New York, October 1—The Academy of American Poets announced today that Linda Gregg's All of It Singing (Graywolf Press) was chosen by poets Dorianne Laux, J. D. McClatchy, and James Richardson to receive the 2009 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, which awards $25,000 to the most outstanding book of poetry published in the previous year.

About Gregg's winning book, judge James Richardson remarked:

Sep 14 2009

New York, September 14—Jean Valentine has been selected as the recipient of the 2009 Wallace Stevens Award from the Academy of American Poets. The $100,000 prize recognizes outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry. Harryette Mullen has been selected as the recipient of the 2009 Academy Fellowship. The Fellowship is awarded to a poet for distinguished poetic achievement and provides a stipend of $25,000. The Academy’s Board of Chancellors, a body of sixteen eminent poets, selects the Wallace Stevens Award and Academy Fellowship recipients.

Aug 04 2009

$5,000 for an outstanding second book

May 05 2009

Publication of first book, $5,000 cash prize, residency at the Vermont Studio Center