Academy of American Poets

Academy of American Poets Chancellors

The Academy of American Poets was founded in 1934 to support American poets at all stages of their careers and to foster the appreciation of contemporary poetry.

recent announcements

Nov 05 2015
In the past five years, the interest in poetry and its audience has grown. In response, on November 5-7, for the first time, leaders from sixteen nonprofit organizations dedicated to promoting and presenting poets and poetry will meet at the Lannan Foundation in Santa Fe, NM to discuss their mutual efforts, as well as how they might make poetry even more visible and find new supporters for the art form.
Oct 27 2015
One Today Event
Join Academy of American Poets Education Ambassador and inaugural poet Richard Blanco and illustrator Dav Pilkey as they celebrate the release of their collaboration One Today at a special celebration to be held on Monday, November 2, 2015 at PS 321, 180 7th Avenue in Park Slope, Brooklyn. This free reading, conversation, and book signing, cosponsored by 826NYC, will appeal to children and adults alike. Attendees will have a chance to win prizes including gift cards to Powerhouse bookstore, limited edition art prints, and broadsides of Blanco’s inspirational inaugural poem.


Poets Forum
Each fall the Academy of American Poets presents a series of events over three days in New York City that explore the ever-changing landscape of contemporary poetry in America.This year’s Poets Forum was held October 8 to 10, 2015, and featured...
Poem-a-Day is the original and only daily digital poetry series featuring over 200 new, previously unpublished poems by today's talented poets each year. On weekdays, poems are accompanied by exclusive commentary by the poets, and several featured...
Since 1934, the Academy of American Poets has awarded more money to poets than any other organization. read more


The Academy of American Poets Fellowship is a $25,000 prize awarded to one poet each year to recognize distinguished poetic achievement. Established in 1946 and given in memory of James Ingram Merrill, the Academy of American Poets Fellowship was...
The Wallace Stevens Award is given annually to recognize outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry. Established in 1994, the award carries a $100,000 stipend. Recipients are chosen by the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors.
Established in 1975, the Walt Whitman Award is a $5,000 first-book publication prize. The winner receives publication by Graywolf Press, an all-expenses-paid six-week residency at the Civitella Ranieri Center in the Umbrian region of Italy, and...