Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
Meet Poets Julia Clare Tillinghast-Akalin and Richard Tillinghast to Discuss Their New Translation
Featured Poets:Julia Clare Tillinghast-Akalin, Richard Tillinghast
June 1, 2010, 7 p.m.
Nicola's Books, 2513 Jackson Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI
Meet Poets Julia Clare Tillinghast-Akalin and Richard Tillinghast to Discuss Their New Translation

Meet poets Julia Clare Tillinghast-Akalin and Richard Tillinghast as they discuss Dirty August their new translation of Turkish poet Edip Canserver.

Edip Canserver (1928 - 1986) was one of a group of poets known as Ikinci Yeni or "Second New" which was the second wave of Turkish poets to embrace Modernism. Canserver is an existential poet, not a historical poet and he seldem refers to his city's history.

Julia Clare Tillinghast-Akalin's poems and translations have appeared in Boston Review, Crazyhorse, Irish Pages, Northern Passages, Sou' Wester and elsewhere. A graduate of the undergraduate writing program at Sarah Lawrence College, she is currently an MFA candidate in the Creative Writing program at Virginia Tech University. Born in San Francisco, raised in Ann Arbor, Michigan, she lived, worked, and studied Turkish in Istanbul, Turkey, from 2004-2008 and now lives in Blacksburg, Virginia, with her husband Sehmuz and their son Hamza.

Richard Tillinghast is the author of ten books of poetry most recently The New Life, 2008, from Copper Beech Press, and Selected Poems, 2009, from Dedalus Press in Ireland. His books of non-fiction include Finding Ireland: a Poet's Explorations of Irish Literature and Culture and Robert Lowell's Life and Work: Damaged Grandeur, a critical memoir. He has received grants from the Amy Lowell Trust, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the American Research Institute in Turkey, and the Irish Arts Council.

Info: 334-662-0600

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.