Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
Apr 27, 2014
Poet's Voice
Darien, CT
May 8, 2014
Riverwood Poetry Series presents Alison Meyers
Hartford, CT
May 11, 2014
Poet's Voice
Greenwich , CT
Jun 22, 2014
Alabanza: In Praise of Spirits that Move Us
Hartford, CT
Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
Sunken Garden Poetry Festival
July 10, 2013, 5:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Hill-Stead Museum's Sunken Garden, 35 Mountain Rd, Farmington, CT

At the Sunken Garden Poetry Festivals, renowned poets read selections of their work in the historic and picturesque garden of Hill-Stead estate. Viewers are welcome to bring their own seating. Food is available for purchase from Tallula’s Catering. Evenings begin with music from various artists and poetry follows. Come rain or shine! Admission is $10 per person, 18 and under are free.

July 10th’s festival features Carolyn Forché and music by Abu Alvin Carter Sr. & Jim Mercik. Renowned as a “poet of witness,” Carolyn Forché is the author of four books of poetry. Her first poetry collection, Gathering The Tribes (Yale University Press, 1976), won the Yale Series of Younger Poets Award. In 1977, she traveled to Spain to translate the work of Salvadoran-exiled poet Claribel Alegría and, upon her return, received a John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, which enabled her to travel to El Salvador where she worked as a human rights advocate. Her second book, The Country Between Us (Harper and Row, 1982), received the Poetry Society of America’s Alice Fay di Castagnola Award and was also the Lamont Selection of the Academy of American Poets. Her third book of poetry, The Angel of History (HarperCollins, 1994), was chosen for The Los Angeles Times Book Award. Blue Hour is her fourth collection of poems (HarperCollins, 2003). She is currently at work on a memoir of her years in El Salvador, Lebanon, South Africa and France.

Info: 860.677.4787

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.