Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
Add to Notebook | Email to Friend | Print
7th Annual Austin African American Book Festival
June 22, 2013, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
George Washington Carver Museum, 1165 Angelina, Austin, TX

Dr. Collins will discuss the poet Etheridge Knight.

Terry McMillan (WAITING TO EXHALE, HOW STELLA GOT HER GROOVE BACK, MAMA) will speak and sign books at the 7th annual Austin African American Book Festival.  This Austin tradition is scheduled for Saturday, June 22, 2013 from 10 – 4 at the George Washington Carver Museum & Library Complex, 1161 & 1165 Angelina.

Also confirmed for the event are Anita Richmond Bunkley and Dr. Michael Collins.  Ms. Bunkley will discuss her latest work A THOUSAND STEPS.  Ms. Bunkley has published more than 10 novels in the last two decades.  Ms. Buckley is noted for her contributions to the historical fiction and contemporary fiction genres. Her work includes BLACK GOLD, WILD EMBERS, BALANCING ACTS, and STARLIGHT PASSAGE.

Dr. Collins, Associate Professor at Texas A & M will discuss his book UNDERSTANDING ETHERIDGE KNIGHT.  Mr. Knight was a wounded Korean veteran who published 5 books of poetry after being released from prison.   In 1984 Mr. Knight was recognized as being among the front ranks of poets with his selection for the Shelley Memorial Award.  Winners of this award have included E. E. Cummings, Gwendolyn Brooks, W. S. Mervin, Lucille Clifton, Angela Jackson, and most recently Wanda Coleman.

The festival – I AM ALL OF THEM, THEY ARE ALL OF ME, THE BRILLIANCE AND RESILIENCY OF BLACK LETTERS AND ARTS – will also include local Austin/Central Texas authors and two discussion blocks (Benefits and Losses of the Great Migration and Love in the Age of Hip-Hop).

For additional information – as well as arranging for interviews with the confirmed authors, email or

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.


Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.