poetry near you

Are you looking to connect with poets or find opportunities to hear or study poetry? To find poetry events and resources near you, simply enter your zip code in the search field below. You can also click on the states menu to the right above and select your state to find festivals, conferences, writing programs, literary organizations, landmarks, poetry-friendly bookstores, and more in your area. If you'd like to share events with the Poets.org audience, please submit them below.

upcoming events

filter by
datesort ascending
Oct 13 2015

Graywolf Poetry Tour - Mary Jo Bang, Nick Flynn and Diane Seuss

Co-sponsored by University of Chicago Creative Writing and Poetics

About "The Last Two Seconds" by Mary Jo Bang: One of Publishers Weekly's Top 10 Poetry Books of the Spring. "The Last Two Seconds" is an astonishing confrontation with time—our experience of it as measured out by our perceptions, our lives, and our machines. In these poems, full of vivid imagery and imaginative logic, Mary Jo Bang captures the difficulties inherent in being human in the twenty-first century, when we set our watches by nuclear disasters, species collapse, pollution, mounting inequalities, warring nations, and our own mortality. This is brilliant and profound work by an essential poet of our time.

About "My Feelings" by Nick Flynn: In "My Feelings", Nick Flynn’s fourth book of poetry, the author makes no claims on anyone else’s. These poems inhabit a continually shifting sense of selfhood, in the attempt to contain quicksilver realms of emotional energy—from grief and panic to gratitude and understanding. A major subject is the death of Flynn’s father, a formerly homeless man suffering from mental illness and delusions of his own grandeur (and made famous recently by Robert De Niro in the film "Being Flynn", based on Nick Flynn’s memoir). What does it mean to lose someone like that, finally, and what is the legacy of fatherhood? Flynn’s jagged, lyrical poems attempt to make sense of these questions and the clutter left behind in our lives. Alongside those elegies are also moving poems about his daughter, his own sense of fatherhood, and his fractured memories of his mother, before she took her own life.

About "Four-Legged Girl" by Diane Seuss: In Diane Seuess’s urgent and rapturous third collection, "Four-Legged Girl", her kaleidoscopic lyricism is on full display. These are hothouse poems written from her personal life, from a childhood lived beside the death of her estranged father to a wild love life as recounted from the streets of New York. The book culminates to the remarkable title poem about the famous turn-of-the-century sideshow freak, the woman with four legs, the body made strange to itself and to others. Seuss’s work is emotional and lyrically rich, but grounded in her wild femininity, her childhood narrative, and her sense of rural Michigan, where she now lives. Perfect for fans of Linda Gregg, Lucie Brock-Broido, and D. A. Powell, "Four-Legged Girl" is a gutsy, sexy book of poems that is poised to make a big splash this fall.

About Mary Jo Bang: Mary Jo Bang is the author of six collections of poems, including "Louise in Love", "The Eye Like a Strange Balloon", "The Bride of E", and "Elegy", which received the National Book Critics Circle Award. She has also recently translated Dante's "Inferno". She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri, and teaches at Washington University.

About Nick Flynn: Nick Flynn is the author of three acclaimed books of poetry, "The Captain Asks for a Show of Hands", "Blind Huber", and "Some Ether", winner of the PEN/Osterweil Award. He is also the author of three memoirs, "The Reenactments", "The Ticking Is the Bomb", and "Another Bullshit Night in Suck City", winner of the PEN/Martha Albrand Award. He is also the author of a play, "Alice Invents a Little Game" and "Alice Always Wins" (2008). He has received fellowships from, among other organizations, The Guggenheim Foundation and The Library of Congress. Some of the venues his poems, essays, and nonfiction have appeared in include the New Yorker, the Paris Review, National Public Radio’s "This American Life", and the New York Times Book Review. His film credits include artistic collaborator and “field poet” on the film "Darwin’s Nightmare" (nominated for an Academy Award for best feature documentary in 2006), as well as executive producer and artistic collaborator on "Being Flynn", the film version of "Another Bullshit Night in Suck City". A professor in the creative writing program at the University of Houston, where he teaches each spring, he then spends the rest of the year in (or near) Brooklyn.

About Diane Seuss: Diane Seuss is the author of two previous poetry collections, "It Blows You Hollow" and "Wolf Lake, White Gown Blown Open", winner of the Juniper Prize for Poetry. Her poems have appeared in Best American Poetry 2014, the Georgia Review, New Orleans Review, Poetry, and elsewhere. She is writer-in-residence at Kalamazoo College and lives in Michigan.

About Srikanth Reddy: Srikanth Reddy is the author of two books of poetry--"Facts for Visitors" (University of California Press, 2004) and "Voyager" (University of California Press, 2011) --as well as a scholarly study, "Changing Subjects: Digressions in Modern American Poetry" (Oxford University Press, 2012). His poems have appeared in various journals, including APR, Grand Street, Fence, and Ploughshares, and his critical writing has been featured in publications such as the New Republic, Raritan, and American Literature. He has held fellowships from the Mellon Foundation, the Whiting Foundation (in the Humanities), and the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing. A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and the doctoral program in English at Harvard University, Reddy is an Assistant Professor in English and at the College.

7:00pm
57th Street Books
1301 E. 57th St.
60637 Chicago, Illinois
Sep 30 2015

Daniela Gioseffi Reads Poetry in AUTHOR and ACTIVIST: The Daniela Gioseffi Story

Doors open at 6:30 PM with refreshments. Preview screening of the film at 7PM with ecological poetry readings included and a live discussion with the audience follows at 8PM. There's a reception with refreshments until 9 PM. Author and Activist: The Daniela Gioseffi Story tells of a poet's struggle to make art of  of civil rights, democratic equality, human rights and climate justice activism. Grace Paley, Galway Kinnell, Allen Ginsberg and George Plimpton appear briefly as do poets Nancy Mercado, George Guida, Angelina Oberdan and others. The film covers recent years of American history and infuses poetry within a life-affirming inspirational docu-drama followed with discussion with the audience and reception.

Admission fee: $3.00
6:30am
Maya Deren Theatre: Anthology Film Archives
32 Second Ave. at E. 2nd St. Lower Manhattan
#6 train to Bleedker St. or M15 Bus to 3rd St.
10003 New York City, New York
Sep 27 2015

2015 WCPA Annual Poetry Contest: the Frank O'Hara Prize Winner's Reading

Join contest chair Robert Steele and contest judge Dawn Potter for the Winner's Reading of the 2015 WCPA Annual Poetry Contest: the Frank O'Hara Prize.  Contest winners and honorable mentions will read their work followed by a reading by contest judge Dawn Potter.2015 honorees include Jennifer Freed, John Eisner, Anne Marie Lucci and Emily Ferrara.The event will be held on Sunday, September 27th at the First Unitarian Church, 90 Main Street, Worcester, MA and will start at 2:00pm.Sponored by the Worcester County Poetry Association (worcestercountypoetry.org).

2:00pm
First Unitarian Church
90 Main Street
01608 Worcester, Massachusetts
Sep 19 2015

BeatStreet Cleveland 2015

BeatStreet Cleveland is a poetry and music event in conjunction with the 2015 National Beat Poetry Festival.  Featured guests include Ingrid Swanberg, Alex Gildzen, Sean Thomas Dougherty, Theresa Gottl Brightman, Steven Smith and John Burroughs, with the Cincinnati indie/punk/rock band Mad Anthony.  With an emphasis on Cleveland poet d. a. levy's historical and cultural importance and influence, but with a major shout-out to the vibrant poetry scene splashing across northeast Ohio and other states coast-to-coast, the poets joining us in this event represent the avant-garde, the unconventional, the gloriously original individuals who have been influenced by the Beats, and who continue to enrich, inspire, and invigorate our lives and the crafts of the spoken and sung word. 

3:00pm to 7:00pm
Barking Spider Tavern
11310 Juniper Rd.
44106 Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 10 2015 to Sep 12 2015

The 10th Annual Carolina Mountains Literary Festival

The festival begins Thursday night with a film about the creation of the US Forest Service. Friday and Saturday almost 30 authors including NC Poet Laureate Shelby Stephenson, Sara Gruen and Wiley Cash will present free readings.

The Friday night banquet with Jay Erskine Leutze and Saturday night's "Conversation With Barbara Kingsolver and Ann Patchett" are ticketed events. Four writing workshops and a nature walk require registration and tickets.  More information is at cmlitfest.org

7:00pm to 10:00pm
Burnsville Town Center
6 South Main Street
28714 Burnsville, North Carolina

recent & featured listings

filter by
type name state
Conference

University of North Dakota Writers Conference

North Dakota
Landmark

McLean Hospital in Belmont

Massachusetts
Festival

New York Poetry Festival

New York
Literary Magazine

Black Warrior Review

Alabama
Poetry-Friendly Bookstore

Poetry Landmark: The Grolier Poetry Book Shop

Massachusetts
Conference

Litquake: San Francisco Literary Festival

California
Conference

O, Miami

Florida
Colony

Ucross Foundation

Wyoming
Landmark

Robert Frost Stone House Museum

Vermont
Writing Program

University of Notre Dame Creative Writing Program

Indiana

poems

poem
I am not here to ruin you.
I am already in you.
I am the work you don’t do.
I am what you understand best and wordless.
I am with you in your chair and in your song.
I am what you avoid and what you stop avoiding.
I am what’s left when there is nothing left.
Love me hard, pilgrim.
poem
The Lord is my Arctic, my tube
nosed bird.  He hoppeth over
the surface of waters, my Jesus
bird who doth follow my ship.

He broods over cliff's edge, ponderous
over all of the penguins balancing
their eggs on their feet.

The Lord is my giant frigate bird.  I am
his limpet, krill, and his plankton.
He is the
poem
Before our lives divide for ever, 
      While time is with us and hands are free, 
(Time, swift to fasten and swift to sever 
      Hand from hand, as we stand by the sea) 
I will say no word that a man might say 
Whose whole life's love goes down in a day; 
For this could never have been; and never,