Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >
National Poetry Month
Poet-to-Poet Project
Poetry Month FAQ
Find Poems
Poem in Your Pocket Day
Poetry & the Creative Mind Gala
Poster Gallery
Dear Poet Project

National Poetry Month is a registered trademark of the Academy of American Poets.

1999 NPM Poster Photo Credits

1999 NPM posterTop Row (left to right):
  • Sylvia Plath. Photo by Rollie McKenna.
  • James Merrill. Photo by Thomas Victor.
  • Robert Hayden. Photo by Jay Semple.
  • Allen Ginsberg. Photo by Dorothy Alexander.
  • Marianne Moore. Photo by George Platt Lynes, courtesy of The Rosenbach Museum and Library and George Platt Lynes, II.
Second Row:
  • William Carlos Williams. Photo by Irving Wellcome, courtesy of New Directions Publishing Corp.
  • Emily Dickinson. Photo courtesy of the Amherst College Library.
  • Robinson Jeffers. Photo by Edward Weston, 1981 Center for Creative Photography, Arizona Board of Regents.
  • Robert Lowell. Photo by Rollie McKenna.
  • Audre Lorde. Photo by Dagmar Schultz, courtesy of Charlotte Sheedy Literary Agency, Inc.
Third Row:
  • Elizabeth Bishop. Photo by Thomas Victor.
  • T. S. Eliot. Photography Collection, Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, The University of Texas at Austin.
  • Mina Loy. Photo by Stephen Haweis, collection of Roger L. Conover.
  • Wallace Stevens. Photo by Sylvia Salmi, Corbis-Bettmann.
Bottom Row:
  • Robert Frost. Photo by George Brown, courtesy of the Herbert H. Lamson Library, Plymouth State College, Plymouth, New Hampshire.
  • Sterling A. Brown. Photo by Roy Lewis.
  • Anne Sexton. Photo by Rollie McKenna.
  • Walt Whitman. Photo courtesy of Walt Whitman House, New Jersey Division of Parks & Forestry, Camden, NJ.
  • Langston Hughes. Photo by Consuelo Kanaga, courtesy of Kristina Amadeus.
  • John Berryman. Photo by Tom Berthiaume, courtesy of Farrar, Straus & Giroux.

Back to Poster Gallery.

Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.