Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >


Main Menu
Academy Fellowship
Wallace Stevens Award
Lenore Marshall Prize
James Laughlin Award
Walt Whitman Award
Raiziss/de Palchi Translation Awards
Landon Translation Award
College Prizes
Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award
Past Awards
Writing Contests FAQ
Copernicus Award

The Copernicus Award was established in 1974 by The Copernicus Society of America and administered by the Academy. The $10,000 award was given to a living American poet over the age of 45, in recognition of the poet's lifetime work and contribution to poetry as a cultural force.

Award Winners:

Year Winner Judges
1974 Robert Lowell Elizabeth Bishop, Daniel Hoffman, James Wright
1975 Kenneth Rexroth Donald Hall, Anthony Hecht, W. D. Snodgrass
1976 Robert Penn Warren Donald Justice, May Swenson, Eleanor Ross Taylor
1977 Muriel Rukeyser Galway Kinnell, William Meredith, Josephine Miles
Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2014 by Academy of American Poets.