Peasants Wake for Fellini's Casanova by Andrea Zanzotto

Ruth Feldman

YearTitlePublisherPrize AmountJudges
1997Peasants Wake for Fellini's Casanova and Other Poems by Andrea ZanzottoUniversity of Illinois Press$10,000Alfredo de Palchi
    Jonathan Galassi
    Paolo Valesio


The author of five books of poetry, Ruth Feldman also authored fifteen books of Italian translations, all poetry with the exception of Primo Levi's concentration camp stories. In 2000, Feldman and John P. Welle received the Raiziss/de Palchi Book Prize for their translation of Andrea Zanzotto's work Peasant's Wake for Fellini's Casanova and Other Poems (University of Illinois Press, 1997).

She won the John Florio Prize in England, the Circe-Sabaudia in Italy, and the Italo Calvino Prize in the United States, and her poetry has been translated into Italian, French, and Spanish. The recipient of a Literary Translator's Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, she lectured and read at many universities in the United States and Italy. Feldman died on January 11, 2003.